Sea sole & Bacon

Sea_sole_crispy_bacon_schrimps

I recently discovered a new fish truck at my neighbourhood market, you cannot imagine how happy I was when I saw the huge stall of beautiful fresh fish and shellfish. This week they had lovely sea soles which I adore but also crabs, squids, shrimps… No need to say that in less than 5min my basket was full of wonderful seafood products.

I had never cooked seafood with bacon before, which is really too bad for me because it’s absolutely fantastic. I will certainly do it again!

I used Dover sole, but any other flatfish like plaice, dab or lemon sole would also be fantastic. You want them skinned but with the head left on, so either ask your fish monger to do this for you or you can easily do it yourself (they are plenty of YouTube videos that will show you “how to”).

This dish is best made for two as it is easy to just throw everything quickly together in a large frying pan. But honestly considering how easy and quick the recipe is you could get a second pan and cook the extra required fish(es) at the same time.

Sea_sole_crispy_bacon_schrimps

Grilled bacon & shrimps sea sole 

Serves: 2 persons
Cooking Time: Prep time 15 mins, cook 20 mins.

Ingredients:

– 150gr smoked bacon

– olive oil

– 2 sprigs of rosemary

– 25gr of butter

– 2x sea sole, skinned

– 50gr peeled brown shrimps

– a small handful fresh chives

– 2 lemons

– sea salt and ground pepper

Method:

Preheat the oven to 250° on grill position and prepare a roasting tray with foil on top.

Slice the bacon into matchsticks and put them on the roasting tray. Put the tray at the top of the oven to grill the bacon for 5min or until lightly golden. Reserve.

Put a large frying pan on medium heat, add in the butter, a drizzle of olive oil and add the rosemary to the pan.

Carefully lay both fish in the hot pan, head to tail. Cook the fish for about 4min, then carefully and confidently turn each one over with a large fish slice.

Add in the grilled bacon as well as the shrimps, give it a little shake and cover the pan immediately with a lid. Cook for another 4min.

Finely slice the chives, then remove the lid when the time is up. Squeeze in the juice of a lemon, scatter over the chives and a good pinch of salt and pepper.

I served the sea soles with white rice but you can also go fo asparagus, a spinach salad or something as simple as new potatoes.

Wine recommendation:

I paired the dish with Alsace white wine. I chose a Riesling as this specific wine tend to go well with fish but also smoky flavour like bacon. A Sylvaner would also be great.

The Dutch boyfriend’s opinion:

There are only a few fish that I am eager to see on my plate: herring, kabeljou, salmon and trout. Haringhappen and lekkerbekje are surely among my favorite snacks, with salmon and trout watering my mouth even when I think about them.

When Raphaelle started to prepare the sea sol I quietly feared that tonight I wouldn’t eat a lot. Don’t get me wrong, the fish is very pretty and looks delicious, but it is also flat. And flat means, not a lot to eat.

To my big surprise dinner was more that the sea sol alone: bacon, herbs and shrimps covered the fabulous looking pan containing my earlier doubt. The result was great: the ingredients worked perfectly together make me crave for more. And there was more: the shrimps and bacon gave body to the still delicate flavor of the sea sol, while the herbs added just the seasoning required to make a whole out of it all. Raphaelle cooked for my mother and me, and both of us really enjoyed the meal.

Guess sea sol is number five.

Rate: 8/10

Leave a Reply

