Lamb curry & Nan bread

Lamb curry with Nan bread

Since last year, I have thought about making my own curry dish, but really never gave it a shot.

Let me explain. even before I had cooked a single Indian dish, I was overwhelmed at the thought of it. I didn’t have the spices. I didn’t know which spices I would want. I was sure I would use them all wrong. It seems to me that there is like an art and a science to this and I am a dilettante in the world of Indian cooking.

But then you can find recipes for curries almost in all cookbooks. And every-time I would open one of my mine, I would find a delicious Tikka masala curry, a Rogan Josh, or Beef Rendang recipe and I would be salivating at the thought of making it/eating it.

Lamb curry with Nan bread

So yesterday I decided I should face my fears and give it a try for the first time. And to be honest it was neither scary nor difficult nor super time-consuming. I quite enjoyed it actually and loved making my own Nan bread!

When you make it, you’ll be super-proud. You can use top-quality lamb, chicken, beef, prawns or any veggies you like with this recipe, it’s loads of fun to marinate and cook, the method rocks, and it’s highly unlikely you will find a better expression.

Lamb curry

Lamb curry served with greek yoghurt, fresh lime juice, coriander and Nan bread:

Serves 2
Cooking time: 3hrs

Ingredients for the Dry rub:

– 2 tbsp fennel seeds
– 2 tbsp cumin seeds
– 2 tbsp coriander seeds
– 1/2 tbsp fenugreek seeds
– 1/2 tbsp black peppercorns
– 1 garlic clove
– 1/2 cinnamon stick
– 2 cardamom pods
– salt & pepper

Method:

Lightly toast all the ingredients in a pan over a gentle heat before pounding or crushing into a fine powder.

Ingredients for the Lamb curry:

– 1 x Dry rub
– 2 tbsp butter
– 1 can of chopped tomatoes
– 285ml water
– 500gr leg of lamb, diced
– a handful of chopped mint and coriander
– 285ml greek yoghurt
– salt & pepper
– lime juice to taste

Ingredient for curry paste:

– 5cm of fresh ginger, peeled
– 1 red onion, peeled
– 10 garlic cloves, peeled
– 2 fresh red chillies, with seeds
– 1 bunch of fresh coriander

Method:

Preheat your oven to 170°C. Chop the paste ingredients roughly, put them into a food processor and add the dry rub mix. Mix well.

In a large casserole pan (that can go in the oven), fry the curry paste mixture in the butter until it goes golden, stirring regularly. Add the tomatoes and the water. Bring to boil, cover with foil and place in the oven for 1hr to intensify the flavours. Remove the foil and continue to simmer on the stove until it thickens. Here is your curry sauce!

Now, fry the lamb in a little olive oil, then add the curry sauce and simmer for around 1hr or until tender. That’s it!

Ingredient for the Nan bread:

– 470gr of flour
– 1 tbsp baking powder
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 tsp sugar
– 180ml milk
– 1 tbsp greek yoghurt
– 1 egg
– butter and garlic (optional)

Method:

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar; set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, whisk together milk, yogurt, oil, and egg. Add flour mixture to milk mixture and mix into a dough. With a dough hook, knead dough into a smooth ball, about 3 minutes. Remove dough onto a floured surface and clean out bowl. Lightly spray inside of bowl with cooking spray and place dough ball back inside; cover with towel; let rest for 30 minutes.

Place a baking stone on the middle oven rack; heat oven to 250°C.

Divide dough into 6 pieces; cover with towel or plastic wrap. Working with 1 dough piece at a time, stretch it over a medium circle. Peel dough off bowl; lay on baking preheated baking stones.

Bake until puffed on top, 2–3 minutes. Brush Naan with garlic butter and sprinkle with parsley, if desired.

* For garlic butter, take 1 stick of butter and place in a microwave safe bowl. Add 2 cloves of fresh minced garlic. Microwave together just until butter is completely melted. Use to brush onto hot, fresh Naan, if desired.

Wine recommendation:

No wine this time, I really really really like my curry with cold beer. My favourite Dutch beers are the Texels beer: De Goudkoppe, Skuumkoppe, Tripel and the Bock. Texels is well known for beer and lamb production so you can’t go wrong here 😉

The Dutch boyfriend’s opinion:

My big fears with curry is that it is to spicy. I know lots of curry’s are meant to be spicy and hot, but for me the flavours vanish as the heat surges through my mouth. So you can imagine I was happily surprised when Raphaëlle’s curry did not ignite my mouth, but instead was rich of flavour. The naan she made with it was a bit dry, but the curry, miam miam. The lamb meat was deliciously well cooked. The consistency of the curry was good as well (in my opinion): I don’t like liquid curries. Once again I was a happy man.

Rating: 8,5/10

6 thoughts on “Lamb curry & Nan bread

  1. Thanks Francesca, I am not scared of curry no more which is a good thing. I am sure they will come in handy when Winter hits the Netherlands! I am trying myself at new way of shooting the food and I am getting inspiration from your lovely blog and example 🙂

  2. I’ve never cooked anything Indian yet, but I guess I should. I actually purchased the spices like fenugreek and cardamom a while ago, but haven’t used them yet. Thanks for sharing, and glad Dennis appreciated your efforts.

Leave a Reply

