Chicken & Noodle soup

Ramen Noodle soup with homemade chicken broth, shitake, spinach, spring onions, bean sprout, red pepper and a runny egg

Since I last post a picture of a Ramen Noodle soup on my Instagram account I’ve gotten quite a few requests for the recipe so I decided to add it to the blog.
To be honest I never tasted an authentic and traditional Japanese soup (yeah I know who do I think I am to then give you tips on how to make the soup…). I would love to though! Dennis if you hear/read me 😉
I started to experiment at home after watching the movie “Ramen Girl”: The film follows the life of an American woman stranded in Tokyo after breaking up with her boyfriend who decides to train to be a ramen chef under a tyrannical Japanese master in order to get her life in order. I tell you already this movie is no “chef-d’oeuvre” (masterpiece) BUT it did one thing it triggered me to go in the kitchen and try (re)create a Ramen soup.
In the movie you can clearly see that the classic Japanese ramen soup typically follow a specific combination of broth, noodles, meat and vegetables. So I started like that and after a little research online watching videos like this I came up with my own Ramen noodle soup recipe (you should really watch that video it’s hilarious and so great to learn from!).
blabla

Ramen Noodle soup with homemade chicken broth, shitake, spinach, spring onions, bean sprout, red pepper and a runny egg

Try to prepare your broth from scratch and with organic meat (if possible), that will make all the difference. Commercial broth are often saturated with sodium/fats and really do not taste great… but make it yourself and you end up with a beautiful balanced and healthy soup. It is also something that you can eat every day without being scared of becoming sick or fat. And of course, the taste is really really delicious.
So please grab some noodles, make a broth and fill it in with vegetables. Believe me, once you’ve done just that, the only noise you will be hearing at the dinner table will be “slurps” “sip” “slurps” “sip” “slurps” “sip” and that will go on until the bowls are empty 😉
blabla

Ramen Noodle soup with homemade chicken broth, shitake, spinach, spring onions, bean sprout, red pepper and a runny egg

Makes 4 large Ramen soup bowls
Cooking time: 3hours (incl. preparation of the broth)

Ingredients:

– 4 chicken whole leg on the bone
– 2tbsp coriander powder
– 1tsp chili flakes or 1/2 red chili pepper, thinly sliced
– 4tbsp soja sauce
– 3tbsp grated ginger
– 2,5L water (+refill during cooking process)
– 1tbsp olive oil
– 3 large garlic gloves, thinly chopped
– 300gr shiitake mushrooms, sliced
– 300gr beans sprout
– 500gr baby spinach
– 1 large handful coriander leaves
– 6 scallions, thinly sliced
– 4 eggs
– 4 portions of Ramen noodles (I recommend Hakubaku organic noodles they are delicious!) But I often switch the Ramen noodles for Miehoen (I love Go-Tan Miehoen) which is a lot lighter and gluten-free 😉 If you decide to go for Miehoen 1 pack is enough for 4 servings.
– 500gr baby spinach
– 1 large handful coriander leaves

Method:

Heat the olive oil in Dutch oven over medium-high heat until just smoking. Add the chicken legs and cook until browned all over, about 10 minutes. Add the water and bring to boil over high heat.

Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, skim the fat from the top of the bone broth. Now add the minced garlic, chili pepper flakes, soja sauce, ginger, coriander powder and cover the Dutch oven with the lid. Leave to simmer for at least 1hour – if you have time I’d recommend to go for 2hours until broth is rich and flavourful.

Little tip: Don’t be scared to refill your broth with water during the cooking process as the water will evaporate while boiling.

Your chicken broth is ready you can now remove the meat from the pan. Remove the meat from bones, discarding skin and bones, and reserve meat on the side.

Add the sliced shiitake and red chilli pepper to the broth and leave to simmer on medium low heat for about 20 mins. Remove the shiitake and red chilli pepper from the broth and reserve.

In the meanwhile prepare your soft-boiled eggs: bring water to boil in a pan. Once water is boiling add the eggs and leave in the covered pan for 6 mins. Place your eggs in a bowl filled with cold water for about a minute. Reserve.

Once your shiitake are ready and removed from the broth, add you bean sprout to the broth and cook for 1 minute. Remove from the broth. Reserve. Same goes for the spinach but only cook for a few seconds (about 30sec). Reserve.

Finally cook the noodles by adding in the broth for about 4mins.

Now assemble your delicious Japanese soup in the following order: First the noodles in the middle. Now place around the noodles the vegetables: spinach, shiitake, red chilli pepper, bean sprout. Don’t forget the chicken meat! Peel the eggs. slice them lengthways and add to the bowl. Cover with steaming hot broth and scatter the soup with coriander and scallions.

Bon appétit!

Wine recommendation:

Ramen soup is very direct so I tend to prefer a lighter beer style here. I think pilsner can work well, but Belgian-style wheat beers work even better. They are light and slightly acidic, with a lilt of coriander and orange peel.Their low bitterness and slight sweetness offsets the salty broth nicely. But if you still want to pair your soup with a glass of wine I would recommend a light bodied Pinot Gris or Pinot Grigio.

The Dutch boyfriend’s opinion:

De-li-ci-ous! The soup just has an abundance of flavours, and the colours in the plate make the dish a feast to the eyes as well. While eating this dish, the only noises I make are *slurp* and *gobble gobble*. Before Raph used to use ramen noodles, but quick eaters such as me would end up with a heavy belly feeling afterwards. Now with the miehoen, the balance is right as it should be. A great dish every time again!

Rate 9/10

11 thoughts on “Chicken & Noodle soup

  1. I make similar Asian style soups. It’s simple to change the herbs and seasonings and switch countries. I keep broth in the freezer so I can make healthy ramen for a quick week night dinner. Glad Dennis enjoyed his bowl of goodness

    • Thanks Sandra! I am curious about what herbs and spicies you used to “switch countries” and what you end up making. Could you may be show me? Pretty please 🙂

      • Gladly! Japanese I use ramen and silken tofu, add a little miso, some snipped nori and just a touch of sesame oil, Vietnamese I use rice noodles, season with lime juice and fish sauce and serve shredded iceberg lettuce sliced chilli and Viet mint (ram rau) to garnish. For Thai, again rice noodles, fish sauce and lime, then I add a dash of coconut milk. Serve, coriander leaf, chilli, bean shoots and crushed roasted peanuts to garnish. For Malaysian I use Hokkein noodles, a touch of curry, a little coconut milk, chilli or sambal oelek and bean shoots. I’m sure by now you see the diversity of this delicious soup! Enjoy…

      • Amazing! All of these recipes sounds so delicious. Thanks you so much for sharing! I am very much inspired by your Thai recipe, I am sure would be perfect with some large prawns … If you have links to recipes on your own blog I am would love to see it 😉 Thank you again Sandra!

  2. There are so many variations of this kind of soup with the noodles, broth and veggies. Personally I don’t care if it’s authentic or not, as long as it tastes good and is pretty!!! Yours is gorgeous!!!

    • Thank you Mimi. You’re right I shouldn’t care too much about authenticity but I must admit I’d love to taste one day a Ramen noodle soup in a small restaurant in Tokyo 😉

    • Awww thank Dan – this is so nice of you to say! Have a look at the comment box under my post. Some of bloggers friend have even posted some tips on how to turn this Japanese recipe into other dishes! Kisses & Hug and thank you again for passing by ❤

Leave a Reply

